Imposed on circumferential and radial roads

60 km/h is now the speed limit on radial and circumferential roads in Metro Manila.

According to MMDA Regulation No. 19-001, the new 60 km/h speed limit applies to all vehicles in the specified roads, except trucks and buses. It will be in effect 24 hours a day.

The new speed limit has been imposed to prevent “over speeding” and the accidents that result from it, leading to loss of life and damage to property.

The circumferential roads included in the list are Recto Avenue, Quirino Avenue, Araneta Avenue, EDSA, C.P. Garcia Avenue and Southeast Metro Manila Expressway. Meanwhile, radial roads such as Roxas Boulevard, Taft Avenue, the Magallanes portion of South Luzon Expressway (SLEX), Shaw Boulevard, Ortigas Boulevard, Magsaysay Boulevard/Aurora Boulevard, Quezon Avenue/Commonwealth Avenue, A. Bonifacio Avenue, Rizal Avenue, and Marcos Highway are also bound by the new 60 km/h speed limit.

Drivers found in violation of the new regulation shall be fined Php 1,000 on each instance. The MMDA said it will use speed guns in order to apprehend violating motorists. 

The announcement was posted in a newspaper last April 4, 2019. The speed limit will take effect 5 days after, April 9, 2019.