Point-to-point leisure travel now allowed

The past 15 months of the pandemic seemed like an eternity for motorcycle riders that enjoy visiting different destinations, due to the travel restrictions imposed by the government. With NCR+ usually having one of the strictest quarantine measures, travel from the mega city was heavily restricted for a while.

Now, the Department of Tourism (DOT) is allowing leisure and tourism-related activities from the NCR+ areas (Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal) to MGCQ areas.

“We are looking forward to once again see our tourism destinations welcome tourists from the NCR Plus area. Of course, this has to be done with utmost precaution," said tourism secretary, Bernadette Romulo-Puyat.

While leisure activities have been allowed again, travel restrictions and protocols at the LGU level are still in effect and shall be observed. For example, Angeles City in Pampanga requires a valid RT-PCR test for all travelers, even for those just passing through.

Also, the DOT added, those who are below 18 years old or above 65 years old will be subject to the same RT-PCR test requirement before travel. The DOT also reminds leisure travelers that these trips must be point-to-point only. This means no side trips shall be made to other tourism destinations on the way or nearby (home -> destination -> home).

“We continue to count on travelers to comply with minimum health protocols. I know our kababayans have been wanting to go out and enjoy during the summertime, but let us practice responsibility to protect ourselves and the communities in your chosen destinations," Puyat added.

From June 1 to 30, the following places are under GCQ: NCR Plus, Abra, Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao City, Lanao del Sur, and Cotabato City.

On the other hand, from June 1 to 15, the following areas are under the stricter modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ): Santiago and Cagayan in Region 2, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa, Iloilo City, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Butuan City, and Agusan del Sur.

The rest of the country shall be put under MGCQ until June 30.

Source: Philippine News Agency