MOTORCYCLE NEWS

2017 Honda CB150R makes global debut

2017 Honda CB150R makes global debut image

Inigo S. Roces / Komar Johari | September 07, 2017 12:40

New Honda lightweight naked bike comes in four looks

In the vein of Ducati’s Scrambler and BMW’s R-NineT series, Honda Thailand is giving its street bikes some much needed variety with the new CB150R.

The lightweight naked sport bike is offered in four variants: the standard CB150R, the CB150R Moriwaki edition, the CB150R Scramble Café, and the CB150R ExMotion Street Café.

Honda Thailand premieres 2017 CB150R

All the variants are powered by a new 150cc engine, featuring molybdenum coated pistons, DOHC 4-valve technology, water-cooling, PGM-FI technology, and EURO6 standards compliance. It’s paired with a 6-speed transmission.

It also features other big bike equipment like 41-mm upside down front forks, full LED lights and a digital multifunction meter, and a radial-mount 4-pot caliper disc brake, with ABS with G Sensor.

The engine is mounted on an inner pivot type diamond frame designed to move the center of gravity closer to the rider. Behind is a lightweight, big-bike-inspired swing arm.

Honda Thailand premieres 2017 CB150R

The CB150R special variants will be made in limited numbers, with just 500 units of CB150R Street Café; 1,000 units of CB150R Scramble Café; and 500 units of CB150R Moriwaki edition. Honda Thailand has collaborated with Japanese leading accessory brands, Moriwaki, G’Craft, and Kitaco to make each of the variants.

Honda Thailand premieres 2017 CB150R

The Moriwaki is the most modern of the trio, sporting a long rear tail fender.

Honda Thailand premieres 2017 CB150R

The Scramble Café takes on a more rugged look, evidenced by its Kitaco engine guard and shorter exhaust.

The ExMotion Street Cafe features a more urban inspired look, characterized by pinstriped graphics and a front headlight cowl.

“The new sport bikes, produced for our users today, have been carefully designed to be perfect,” said Yoichi Mizutani, President of A.P. Honda Co., Ltd.

“The introduction of Modern Café is to set a new standard and a new trend in the motorcycle industry, not only in Thailand but the whole world,” said Suchart Arunsaengroj, Vice President, A.P. Honda Co., Ltd.